IPL Facts and History from IPL 2008 to 2024

Get IPL Interesting facts & history from IPL 2008 to IPL 2024 - orange cap, purple cap, IPL highest score, IPL highest wickets, IPL best matches, and useful IPL information.

5/5/20244 min read

IPL Facts and History from IPL 2008 to 2024

"Explore the electrifying history and fascinating facts of the Indian Premier League (IPL), where cricket meets entertainment on a grand scale."

The Indian Premier League (IPL) is a cricket wonder that combines excitement and physicality on an enormous scale. The Indian Premier League (IPL), which was presented in 2007 by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), changed cricket by presenting establishments that spoken to distinctive Indian cities and districts. It pulled in tip top competitors from all over the world who get tall costs at sell off, and it before long rose to ended up one of the wealthiest sports alliances in the world. IPL diversions, which are played in the wild eyed Twenty20 (T20) organize, give nonstop activity and pull in a wide run of fans. In expansion to cricket, the Indian Premier League (IPL) is a fabulous excitement occasion that incorporates cheerleaders, music acts, and celebrity cameos. Its impact on tourism, neighborliness, promoting, and products deals goes well past the cricket field. The Indian Head Alliance goes on in spite of intermittent contention substance.

10 Interesting Facts About IPL

1. Inaugural Season: The IPL was introduced in 2008 by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) as a proficient Twenty20 cricket league.

2. Franchise Framework: Not at all like conventional cricket competitions where groups speak to cities or nations, the IPL presented a establishment framework where groups speak to distinctive cities or locales. These establishments are bought by different commerce substances through a offering process.

3. Celebrity Proprietorship: Numerous IPL groups have celebrity proprietors. For illustration, the Kolkata Knight Riders are possessed by Bollywood on-screen character Shah Rukh Khan, whereas the Lords XI Punjab (presently Punjab Lords) have been co-owned by Bollywood on-screen character Preity Zinta.

4. Biggest Sell off: The IPL sell off is a exceedingly expected occasion where players from around the world are bought by establishments. The biggest offered in IPL history was made for Indian cricketer Yuvraj Singh, who was bought by the Delhi Daredevils (presently Delhi Capitals) for a whopping ₹16 crore (roughly $2.33 million USD) in 2015.

5. Mumbai Indians Mastery: The Mumbai Indians hold the record for the most IPL titles, having won the championship five times (in 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019, and 2020).

6. Chris Gayle's Record: West Indian cricketer Chris Gayle holds the record for the most noteworthy person score in an IPL coordinate. He scored an unbeaten 175 runs off fair 66 balls for the Illustrious Challengers Bangalore against the Pune Warriors India in 2013.

7. Ms Dhoni's Captaincy: Indian cricketer Mahendra Singh Dhoni is known for his uncommon captaincy in the IPL. He driven the Chennai Super Rulers to three IPL titles (in 2010, 2011, and 2018) and is broadly respected as one of the most fruitful captains in IPL history.

8. IPL Exterior India: Due to planning clashes with the Indian common races in 2009, the whole IPL competition was held in South Africa, stamping the to begin with time it was played exterior India.

9. Women's IPL: In later a long time, there has been a developing call for a women's IPL competition to advance women's cricket in India. Whereas there hasn't been a full-fledged women's IPL however, show matches and a scaled down Women's T20 Challenge have been organized nearby the primary tournament.

10. Financial Affect: The IPL has not as it were revolutionized cricket as a wear but too had a noteworthy financial affect. It has driven to the rise of a few cricketing stars and has contributed to the development of the Indian economy through income era from broadcasting rights, sponsorships, ticket deals, and merchandise.

Orange Cap 2024

The Orange Cap, granted to the tournament's most noteworthy run-scorer, is one of the most prestigious grants in the IPL competition. Throughout the season, players appear to have their batting ability and collect runs to win the Orange Cap.

Here's the Orange Cap standings for IPL 2024:

Purple Cap 2024

The Purple Cap is granted to the leading wicket-taker of the competition. Bowlers grandstand their aptitudes with their varieties and claim significant wickets for their teams.

Here's the Purple Cap standings for IPL 2024:

Top IPL News Today
  • 'Why is Shubman Gill selected for T20 World Cup squad?' Cricket legend says BCCI chooses GT captain 'even if he fails'

  • Can Rinku Singh still be a part of India's T20 World Cup squad? Hope alive for fans as KKR batter could do an 'Ashwin'

  • Today's IPL Match: SRH vs RR - who’ll win Hyderabad vs Rajasthan clash on May 2? Fantasy team, pitch report, and more

  • LSG vs MI IPL 2024: Ayush Badoni’s IPL run-out starts meme fest on social media, ‘paisa ho to…’

Highest Score in Every Season

The record for the most elevated IPL add up to goes to the Sunrisers Hyderabad for a gigantic 287/3 runs in a single innings. Here's a look at the top team scores in each season:

  1. SRH - 287/3 vs RCB in 2024

  2. SRH - 277/3 vs MI in 2024

  3. KKR - 272/7 vs DC in 2024

  4. SRH - 266/7 vs DC in 2024

  5. RCB - 263/5 vs Warriors in 2013

Highest Wicket in Every Season

Here are the top wicket-takers in IPL history:

  1. Yuzvendra Chahal (MI/RCB/RR) - 187 wickets

  2. Dwyane Bravo (CSK/GL/MI) - 183 wickets

  3. Piyush Chawla (CSK/KKR/KXIP/MI) - 179 wickets

  4. Amit Mishra (DC/LSG/SRH) - 173 wickets

  5. Ravichandran Ashwin (CSK/DC/KXIP/RPS/RR) - 171 wickets

Best Matches of Every Season

Here are some of the best matches from various IPL seasons:

  • Gujarat Titans vs Chennai Super Kings (2023)

  • Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Royal Challengers Bangalore (2016)

  • Chennai Super Kings vs Royal Challengers Bangalore (2011)

  • Mumbai Indians vs Chennai Super Kings (2015)

  • Kolkata Knight Riders vs Kings XI Punjab (2014)

FAQs on IPL 2024 Orange Cap

Q: Name some Orange Cap winners in past years.

A: Shaun Marsh, Matthew Hayden, Sachin Tendulkar, Chris Gayle, CSK’s Michael Hussey

FAQs on IPL 2024 Purple Cap

Q: Name some Purple Cap winners in past years.

A: Mohammed Shami, Yuzvendra Chahal, Harshal Patel, Lasith Malinga.